

Minutes of the General Purposes and Arbitration Committee

18th March, 2013 at 5.00 pm at the Sandwell Council House, Oldbury

Present: Councillor Dhallu (Chair);

Councillor K Davies (Vice-Chair);

Councillors Bridges, S Crumpton, Frazer,

S Hosell and J Underhill.

1/13 **Minutes**

The minutes of the meetings held on 18th June and 2nd October, 2012 were confirmed as a correct record.

Matters not delegated to the Committee

2/13 Nominations for the Offices of Mayor and Deputy Mayor of Sandwell for the 2013/2014 Municipal Year

In accordance with the process for the selection of Mayor for the Municipal Year 2013/14 and subsequent years, agreed by the Council at its meeting on 10th January, 2013, the Committee considered the nomination of Councillor Linda Horton to the office of Mayor for the 2013/14 Municipal Year. The nomination was supported by a requisite five serving members of the Council.

It was reported that the Leader had deferred the making of a nomination to the office of Deputy Mayor.

Resolved to recommend to the Council:-

(1) that Councillor Linda Rosaleen Horton be nominated for the office of Mayor of the Borough of Sandwell for the 2013/2014 Municipal Year;

General Purposes and Arbitration Committee – 18th March, 2013

(2) that consideration of a nomination for the office of Deputy Mayor of the Borough of Sandwell for the 2013/2014 Municipal Year be deferred.

3/13 Revision of Scheme for the Enrolment of Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen Nominations to the Position of Honorary Alderman and Honorary Alderwoman

The Local Government Act 1972 gave authority to the Council to confer the honour of Honorary Aldermen of the Borough on elected members who had given eminent service to the Borough. The Council had previously approved a Scheme to this effect in 1997.

The Committee was informed however that Section 29 of the Local Democracy, Economic Development and Construction Act 2009 had amended Section 249 of the Local Government Act to the effect that any reference to Honorary Alderman/men and Honorary Freeman/men should be followed by the insertion of "Honorary Alderwoman/women" and "Honorary Freewoman/women", as appropriate. A revised version of the Scheme incorporating these changes was submitted.

A request for the conferment of the title of Honorary Alderman and Honorary Alderwoman had been received from the Leader, Councillor Cooper, to nominate the following former councilors:-

Mr D Hinton Mrs P Hinton Mr M Prestidge Mrs S L Smith

Mr Hinton had represented the Tividale ward for 21 years until 2011. He was the Council's lead member on the West Midlands Fire and Rescue Authority for nine years and was Chair of that Authority from 2001 to 2007 and for the municipal year 2010/2011.

Mrs Hinton had represented the Langley ward for 24 years, from 1984 – 1992 and 1996 to 2012. During that time she had held the following Cabinet Member posts:-

2001-2004 - Corporate Services

2004-2007 - Performance and Equality

2007-2010 - Improvement and Equality

General Purposes and Arbitration Committee – 18th March, 2013

She was also a Deputy Leader of the Council between 2004-2009 and served as Mayor of the Borough in 2010/2011.

Mr Prestidge had represented the Rounds Green ward of Warley Borough Council from 1971 to 1973; the Authority's Soho ward from 1973 to 1975 and Langley ward for 24 years between 1987 and 2011. He was Chair of the Finance and Audit Scrutiny Panel in 2004/05 and Chair of the Finance and Resources Scrutiny Panel from 2005 to 2011.

He had also served as Mayor of the Borough in 2003/2004.

Mrs Smith had represented the Great Barr and Great Barr with Yew Tree wards for 30 years until 2012. During that time she had held the positions of Opposition Leader and Deputy Leader for the Liberal Democrat Group.

She had also served as Mayor of the Borough in 2006/2007.

The Committee was informed that all nominees had been approached to confirm that, if the Council was so minded, they would accept the nomination for the honour.

Resolved to recommend to the Council:-

- (1) that the revised Scheme for the Enrolment of Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen, as set out in Appendix 1, be approved and adopted;
- (2) that the title of Honorary Alderman and Honorary Alderwoman, as appropriate, be conferred upon the following nominees:-

Mr David Peter Hinton Mrs Pauline Hinton Mr Martin John Prestidge Mrs Sadie Laureina Smith

(Meeting ended at 5.07 pm)

Contact Officer: Rosemary Jones
Democratic Services Unit
0121 569 3896